Tags

, ,

20150425_193529

I have a soft spot for hoppy red ales.  Some of my favorite beers have been in this style so I did not hesitate  to grab this offering from Lagunitas, a brewery with a well earned reputation of putting out excellent hoppy beers.  I was a huge fan of their Lucky 13 Red Ale when I tried it last year, so let’s see how this one fares.

Beer Name: Imperial Red Ale

Brewer: Lagunitas Brewing Company

Style: Imperial Red/Amber Ale

ABV: 7.8%

Description: According to the company’s description, this is a revival of one of their very first beer recipes and features dank hops and sweet malts.  I’m sold.

Pour Info: Poured from a refrigerated bottle into a snifter glass.

Price: $6.99 for a 22 oz. bomber.

Appearance: Body pours a dark reddish caramel color.  A thin, vaguely off-white head leaves lacing across the top of the beer and sides of the glass.

Smell: Dominated by sweet malts and caramel.

Taste: The taste initially follows the smell with sweet malts and caramel upfront.  They blend into a piney bitterness that takes over through the finish.  The malt backbone and aggressive hoppiness work together perfectly in this beer for a fantastic taste.

Mouth Feel: Feel is on the thicker side of medium and well-balanced by the carbonation.

Hype: Huge fan of this style and Lagunitas.  I won’t say there was much hype behind this but I knew exactly what I was getting.

Overall: Awesome beer.  Delivers exactly what I want for the style and at a very competitive price.  Happy I picked it up and will be sure to keep my out for more.

