Tags

, , ,

This time we’re looking at a local offering that I couldn’t help but pick up off the shelf at Kappy’s.  I haven’t had nearly enough of this brewery in my drinking rotation, so perhaps now is the time to fix that.

20150628_194111Beer Name: India Wharf Pale Ale

Brewer: Mystic Brewery

Style: Pale Ale

ABV: 5.1%

Description: Part of the brewery’s Wigglesworth series of bottle conditioned real ales.

Pour Info: Poured from a refrigerated 500 ml (16.9 oz.) bottle into a snifter glass.  Couldn’t find a bottled on date.

Price: I don’t remember exactly since it was lumped in with other purchases, but I believe it was in the $3-4 price range.

Appearance: There was a nice hazy mist upon opening the bottle, noticeably more so than usual upon opening up a bottle (as odd as that sounds).  Characteristic golden body with a lively fluffy white that didn’t quite disappear entirely.

Smell:.Not much going on here.  There was a burst of resiny bitterness upon opening the bottle but not so much in the glass, where there was just a hint of floral bitterness.

Taste: The taste really brought what the nose hints at.  Lots of bitterness of the floral variety in this beer.  The beer got a little sweeter at warmer temperatures, but this was first and foremost a very crisp, dry tasting hoppy beer.

Mouth Feel: Appropriately medium bodied for the style.  It was playfully bubbly without being over carbonated.

Hype Factor: Cautiously optimistic.  Mystic is a somewhat under the radar but very well regarded local that I haven’t had a lot of experience with.

Overall: This was a very solid beer.  The word “quality” comes to mind in describing the taste and execution; you can really taste that this was well made.  The taste profile is not quite in line with my usual IPA preferences, but I cannot deny that this is a top notch brew.  I’m happy I picked it up and would try it on draft if given the chance.  I’ll even recommend someone else do the same.

Cheers!

