Tags

, , ,

20150718_204439This time around we’re checking in on another local brewery I haven’t touched upon here yet.  Clown Shoes is a contract brewery currently brewed out of the Mercury Brewing Company facilities in Ipswich, MA.  Distinguishable by their distinctive logo and variety of styles, they see a fairly wide distribution and have had some notable hits (Photosphere Phil, Undead Party Crasher) and equally notable misses (Ghengis Pecan Porter) for me.  However, after doing some hiking last weekend, I happened into a store where the resident beer guy was recommending their new summer beer, Mango.  I was willing to give it a go and share the results with you all below.

Beer Name: Mango

Brewer: Clown Shoes

Style: Kolsch

ABV: 6.5%

Description: Described as a traditional German-style Kolsch “bastardized” with the addition of dry-hopping and mangoes.

Pour Info: Poured from a refrigerated bottle in a trusty snifter glass.

Price: $5.49 for a 22 oz. bomber.  Definitely intriguing price point.

Appearance: The bottle opened with a distinctive hiss and produced a lively, thick bubbly head that ultimately settled down to about about a finger in height.  The body of the beer was a light and golden straw color.

Smell:. Slightly yeasty with hints of sweet mango juice.

Taste: Interesting.  The first pour had a strong bitter, yeasty taste up front.  Mangos came through at the end though not quite as much as I would have hoped for nor enough to really stand up to the bitterness upfront.  The bitterness did fade and the juiciness picked up a bit as the beer warmed.  Dry finish.  For the second pour, the beer was a bit more balanced overall with slightly less bitterness and slightly more mango.  It was also bit crisper and smoother to drink this pour as well.

Mouth Feel: Medium bodied and medium plus carbonation.

Hype Factor: As noted, it came highly recommended by the staff so expectations were somewhat elevated.

Overall: I liked this beer, but I did not love this beer.  It was certainly refreshing after a day’s worth of hiking though.  Admittedly, Kolsch beers aren’t exactly my go to style but I think I got out of this about what I expected to.  I wouldn’t recommend going out of my way to try this, but if you happen to be in the mood and see it on draft or in a bottle you could do much worse for a summer oriented beer.

