Tags

, , , , , ,

20150810_125139I have a confession to make.  I’ve never lined up at a brewery to get hold of a special or limited release–today changed all that.  I took advantage of a beautiful day in Boston and used my lunch break to head on over to the Trillium Brewing Company to grab some bottles of their newest creation, Green Street, Obvious Pale Ale brewed in collaboration with New York’s Other Half Brewing Company (whom you may remember as one of my standouts from this year’s Extreme Beer Fest).

I got to the brewery, or at least the general vicinity of the brewery, about 10-15 minutes before their noon opening and saw that about 100 fellow beer enthusiasts had already lined up.  I dutifully took my place in line and at least that many more steadily queued up behind me in short order.  I had anticipated a line but perhaps not quite one stretching around the block.  Luckily, work was slow, the weather was fantastic, and everyone was in good spirits.  I honestly didn’t know what to expect from people lining up for beer on a Monday morning, but everyone in my little area was patient and friendly.

The crew working there did a fantastic job of getting people in and out efficiently and orderly. I got in about 45 minutes after opening.  Doing bottles only from 12-4 was an excellent call as having all hands on deck for bottles sales really kept things moving.  I am curious about how the growlers moved this afternoon but wasn’t curious enough to get in line for it knowing how long fills can take and imagining what that line would be like.  I grabbed my 6 bottle limit and got out of there.

Having these bottles with me the rest of the day certainly made the remainder of work difficult to get through.  I kept them by desk and couldn’t help peeking at them every so often in anticipation.  Needless to say I was eager to get home and open one of these up to see what I had waited for. Here’s how that went:

20150810_192619Beer Name: Green Street, Obvious Pale Ale

Brewery: Collaboration between Boston’s Trillium Brewing Company and Brooklyn’s Other Half Brewing Company.

Style: Despite the name, it seems to be classified as an IPA.

ABV: 7.8%

Description: IPA created from Valley Danko Rye malts and double dry hopped with Simcoe, El Dorado, and Azaca hops.

Pour Info: Refrigerated bottle into the snifter.

Price: $12 per 750 ml bottle, which is the going price for their dry hopped offerings.  Considering the limited quantities of this beer and all the buzz surrounding it, I was quite happy with this.

Appearance: Pours a golden orangish-yellow body with about a finger of foamy white head that gradually subsides to lacing across the top and sides.

Smell: Burst of tropical fruit and a slight floral aroma.  You can smell the juiciness to come.

Taste: As expected, lots of juicy tropical fruit up front that blends into a very similar juicy hoppy bitterness.  The hop profile turns a bit piney at the finish that lingers a bit after the sip is finished.  At warmer temperatures the rye malts also come out a bit at the end, nicely complementing the piney Simcoe hops.

Mouth Feel: Medium bodied and almost reminiscent of juice.  Carbonation is also medium, perfect for the style, and happily bubbly.

Hype Factor: Very high.  Did I mention the line?

Overall: This is a damned good beer.  Very comparable to the Double Dry Hopped Fort Point Pale Ale (DDHFPPA for all you cool kids out there) I picked up a growler of last week.  The key difference here is that where that one was more citrusy, this one is more tropical.  I definitely taste Trillium’s influence on the beer and would rate this up among the best offerings I have had from either brewery.  Very happy I got to try this.  Was it worth waiting in line an hour for?  That’s a matter of opinion considering the comparable options Trillium spoils us with on a weekly basis, but I certainly don’t regret having done so.

