Tags

, , , , ,

20150811_174039Oddly enough the next beer up on my list is another collaboration brew, this time between Jack’s Abby in Framingham, MA and Otter Creek in Middlebury, VT.  I happened upon these cans after another day of hiking, and they seemed like a safe bet.

Beer Name: Joint Custody

Brewery: Collaboration between Jack’s Abby and Otter Creek.

Style: “Nouveau” Pilsner

ABV: 6.2%

Description: Described as a “nouveau” pilsner because it is a blend of a traditional German pilsner base coupled with two of Germany’s newest fruity hop varieties, Mandarina Bavaria and Huell Melon.

Pour Info: All cans were consumed cold. Some straight out of the can, some poured into a pint glass.  At the time of this writing, two were drunk out of the can and two from a pint glass.

Price: It was around $11 or $12 for the 6 pack of 12 oz. cans.  It was mixed in with other purchases, so I don’t recall exactly.

Appearance: Pours a cloudy, darker straw yellow/gold color.  Just less than a finger’s worth of foamy white head to start things off.

Smell: Fruits up front, mostly tangerine from the Mandarina Bavaria hops and a slight hint of bitterness at the end.

Taste: Here is where things get really interesting.  First from the pint glass, the beer has a juicy melon/tangerine opening backed up by a slightly grassy and piney hop finish.  There is also a distinct crisp maltiness that picks up in the late middle of the beer.  All things considered, I get more of a Pale Ale (rather Pale Lager since this is a Jack’s Abby creation) feel out of this than a Pilsner.  Drunk out of the can, the beer has largely the same tastes with one key difference: a strong smoky taste that picks up right about where I noticed the malts in the poured version.  It is not entirely off putting, but very unexpected.  Only once out of the glass did I get any  hint of this and that was from a final sip I had left sitting around close to room temperature.  Guesses/explanations I have seen range from a trick of the tastes buds to phenolic flavors imparted by some part of the yeast or malt bill.  I won’t hazard a guess, but it did taste much better from the glass because of this.

Mouth Feel: Lighter side of medium body and moderate carbonation.  Very easy drinking.

Hype Factor: Moderate.  I was excited to see it in the store and Jack’s Abby is a favorite of mine, but I had no special hopes for it.

Overall: When consumed from a glass, I really like this beer.  It was very flavorful and easy drinking– perfect for drinking outside at the end of a tiring summer day.  Out of the can it was not quite as good but not bad. This being said, I think the one six pack was enough.  I’ve had better from each of these breweries.

