Tags

, , , ,

It has been a little while since I did my last solo beer review, but I recently took something special out of my beer closet that it deserved a post of its own.  The beer was Orion, the fifth beer from Night Shift Brewing Company’s 2014 Barrel Society lineup.  This was one of my favorites last year and I was curious to see how it had developed over time.

20151006_222646Beer Name: Orion

Brewery: Night Shift Brewing Company

Style: Dark Sour Ale

ABV: 8.4%

Description: As I mentioned above, this was the 5th installment in the 2014 Barrel Society series.  It was described as a dark sour ale aged in oak barrels.

Pour Info: The bottle had sat in my beer closet pretty much since its bottling date on 10/15/2014 until I put it in my refrigerator a few days prior to consuming.  I appropriately drank it out my 2014 Barrel Society teku glass.

Price: The going rate for these was calculated at $15 per 750 ml. for membership purposes.

Appearance: Poured a dark yet slightly shiny brown body with a foamy off-white head.

Smell: The beer smelled rather funky with an assertive tart, fruity sweetness.

Taste: A heavily funky, almost hay-like (in a good way!) taste presided over this beer.  It was accompanied by an equally distinct mildly sweet and decidedly tart fruity taste.  There was also an oak barrel presence that builds a bit on the finish as the beer warms that ties everything together quite nicely.

Mouth Feel: Medium bodied and a touchy syrupy with some fizzy carbonation.

Hype Factor: I’d say I was looking forward to this.  It was my first time this year taking out one of these 2014 beers and I mentioned earlier, this was one of my favorites.

Overall: An excellent beer.  I can definitely tell that it matured a lot in the year since I last drank it.  Whereas before it was predominantly fruity and tart, it had developed a more pronounced Brettanomyces funk and a nice oak barrel-influenced finish.  Very complex and delicious.

