Tags

, , ,

20151205_194812I was in the mood for something different so I reached into my trusty beer closet and came out with a little something I picked up earlier this year – Bride Maker by Jack’s Abby Brewing.

Beer Name: Bride Maker

Brewer: Jack’s Abby Brewing

Style: (Barley) Lager Wine

ABV: 13%

Description: I picked up this bottle right from the source back in April, but it had been bottled on 09/12/2014.

Pour Info: Poured from a refrigerated 0.5 L bottle into that snifter glass which has been getting so much action this year.

Appearance: Poured a brownish caramel body.  Not much head to speak of.

Smell: Malty and sweet with some serious rum notes.

Taste: This big beer certainly delivered some big tastes.  Primarily sweet and malty, these base flavores mixed with caramel, toffee, rum, and dark fruits before coming to a moderately hot, boozy finish.  These all blended together really well to make this a dangerously smooth drinking beer despite all the intensity.  Really lent itself to being slowly savored and enjoyed.

Mouth Feel: It had syrupy, thickish body that felt kind of slick.  Minimal carbonation.

Hype Factor: Moderate.  This was a beer I got to try at last year’s Extreme Beer Fest, but not necessarily appreciate since I had it at the end of my session.

Overall: A very tasty beer, but a slow sipper for sure!  I really liked the sweet flavors of the beer and the warming effect the finish had.  Excellent beer for a cold December evening.

