Tags

, , , ,

Here we go again with another Red IPA.  You all know it’s my favorite style, so I was pleasantly surprised to see this on the shelves while stocking up for my birthday weekend.  Game on!

20160209_210424

Beer Name: Ruby Red IPA

Brewer: Ipswich Ale Brewery

Style: IPA

ABV: 5.5%

Description: It’s a Red IPA!  All I could find out, all I needed to know.  The brewery is in the process of upgrading their website, so perhaps more details will be forthcoming.

Pour Info: Refrigerated 12 oz. bottle into a snifter glass.  Times six.

Appearance: Poured a deep amber body that shines red if light catches it from the right angle.  Up top was a fluffy off-white head.

Smell: Assertive caramel malts with a hint of bitterness lingering in the background.

Taste: Almost the inverse of the smell.  The beer starts out with sweet caramel malts that get taken over mid-sip by piney hops.  The finish is resinous bitterness, mixed with more caramel malt, brown sugar, and just a hint of roasted malt.

Mouthfeel: Maybe slightly on the thicker side of the medium body that is typical of this style.  Solid amount of carbonation that stuck around even as the beer took on a more fluffy and creamy feel when allowed to let sit for a while.

Hype Factor: May be under-hyped?  I don’t want to build this up too much, but in my experience this brewery quietly puts out some very good brews.

Overall:  This was a solid beer at a great price.  I wouldn’t call it the best I’ve ever had, but the beer did rate highly with me as it offered both the sweet malt and bitter hoppy characteristics I look for in this style.  Also, at $9.99 a six-pack this was very competitively priced in a convenient format.  No doubts about it, I’d pick this up again.

