Tags

, , , , , , ,

With warmer weather almost upon us, I wanted to make sure I got another stout under my belt while it’s still technically winter.  I happened upon this particular brew while picking up beer for my I Am Providence review and couldn’t resist getting a six-pack of this as well.

20160227_185103

Beer Name: Autocrat Coffee Milk Stout

Brewer: Narragansett Brewing Company

Style: Milk Stout

ABV: 5.3%

Description: This beer was the result of a collaboration between Narragansett and another long-lived Providence, RI company: Autocrat Coffee.  You can get the details here.  The six-pack of 16 oz. tall boy cans came at the very nice price of $8.50.

Pour Info: Refrigerated 16 oz. can into my new snifter glass.

Appearance: As expected of the style, this poured a deep, dark brown body with a thin tan head that mostly fizzed away.

Smell: Light coffee smell as soon as the can was opened.

Taste: It had a light yet steady coffee taste throughout that peaked towards the end.  On the finish, the beer picked up a  sweet creamy taste that blended into a hint of even more roasted coffee.  Subtle yet flavorful.

Mouthfeel: Smooth and creamy like you would expect for the style, but it felt a bit thinner than I was anticipating.  Carbonation level was low.

Hype Factor: Not much I suppose, but this beer did made a good impression on me the first time I had it about a year ago.  It gets bonus points because that first time was during an impromptu visit to my old college drinking spot – the Blarney Stone in Worcester, MA.

Overall:  A good beer and another one that was quite satisfying despite not having over the top flavors.  I was happy with this pickup, especially since it came at such a reasonable price.  Fans of the style should do themselves a favor and check this out.

 

