Tags

, , , , ,

It’s just about that time of the year for me to start thinking about session beers.  These friendly, refreshing, low-ABV offerings seem to have become quite a thing in the last year or two and for a variety of reasons now is the perfect time for me to start getting into them.  Appropriately enough, I had my first official session beer of the year on a hot, humid 90 degree day while enjoying a burger and some shaded patio seating at a local restaurant.

20160528_135632

Beer Name: Billy 18 Watt IPA

Brewer: SingleCut Beersmiths

Style: Session IPA

ABV: 5.0%

Description: The brewers (and the beer menu) described this as a sessionable IPA packed full of “all the orange zest, pine and tropical lupulin crunch you demand.”  Sounded good to me.  I got to try this on tap and it was served in a snifter glass.

Appearance: It had a golden pale straw body with a thin bubbly head that left some wispy white lacing across the top and sides.

Smell: Sweet citrus fruit aroma with an underlying bitterness.

Taste: There was a refreshing blend of citrus and tropical sweetness upfront, accompanied by a surprisingly bold piney hoppiness that got enhanced by just a touch of orange zest.  On the finish the sweetness faded a bit and was replaced by a light, biscuity malt taste.  Very well executed.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with a moderate amount of carbonation, just about what you would expect for the style.

Hype Factor: I had heard some good things about this brewery recently and was wanting to try something on the lighter side when I saw this on the menu.  Seemed like it was meant to be.

Overall: I really enjoyed this beer and got out of it exactly what I hoped for.  It had a lot of flavor and was really refreshing to drink, especially outside.  Would definitely order this again and also consider picking up some for home if I see it around.  Excellent brew regardless of how it is categorized.

