Tags

, , ,

The session beers continue!  This next brew was part of a mixed six-pack I picked up the other day.

20160609_184240

Beer Name: Easy Jack

Brewer: Firestone Walker Brewing Company

Style: Session IPA

ABV: 4.5%

Description: Firestone Walker’s take on the session IPA, it was brewed with a variety of hops coming from Germany, New Zealand, and the United States.  Giving my snifter the day off, I poured this bottle into a pint glass.

Appearance: It had a see-through light golden/amber body with a thin, fizzy white head fed by bubbles running up the sides of the glass.

Smell: Some faint sticky sweet aromas, but overall rather mild.  

Taste: Started out with a light lemon and orange zest fruitiness followed by some sweet, resinous hops on the finish.  There was a noticeable presence of bready light malts underneath, nicely proportioned to the hops.  Light, flavorful, and well-balanced.

Mouthfeel: Medium to light bodied with some lively carbonation.  There was also a bit of a sticky feeling on the finish that complemented the hops quite nicely.

Hype Factor: I really enjoyed this brew’s older “brothers,”  Union Jack and Double Jack, and have much respect for Firestone Walker.  As a result, I was looking forward to trying this one.

Overall: This was a very nice little beer, well-balanced with good flavor.  I particularly liked the hop profile that it ended with.  I think the SingleCut Billy 18 Watt is still my favorite session IPA so far, but I liked this one Good pickup.

