Tags

, , , , ,

This next session beer is a little something I picked up at random as a Father’s Day treat.  I’ll admit that it was the name and cool looking can that made this one stand out for me.  Not always the best basis for selecting a beer, but something had me feeling confident about this one.

124310lg

Beer Name: Little Cranky Session IPA

Brewer: Stony Creek Brewery

Style: Session IPA

ABV: 4.5%

Description: A session beer from a brewery in Connecticut I hadn’t come across before.  It is the smallest beer in “Cranky” series of IPAs, which you can find a bit more about here.  I picked this up in a six-pack of 12 oz. cans that cost about $11.  Canned on date was 03/22/2016.  I drank the beer for this review out of a snifter glass.

Appearance: The beer had a coppery, amber body with about one finger’s worth of foamy white head.

Smell: Citrus fruit sweetness with a faint hint of bitterness in the background.

Taste: Citrus fruits upfront, mostly orange and mango with a hint of lemon zest.  Fairly light and resinous piney hops round out the taste through to the finish.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with a moderate yet lively carbonation level.  Really easy to drink.

Hype Factor: No hype on this one, was just picking up something new that caught my eye.

Overall: A pretty good beer, but perhaps a bit misclassified as an IPA.  I found the bitterness level and taste profile more in line with an American Pale Ale, though perhaps we’re splitting hairs with this sort of distinction.  Regardless of what you want to call it, this was an enjoyable little brew.  It might not blow your mind, but I did like it and it succeeded in making me interested to try out the bigger beers in this series.

