Tags

, , , , ,

This was a special beer for me.  No, it’s not an elusive whale or some crazy Untappd milestone.  This is the first I’ve had since my son, incidentally named Jack, was born last week.  With sleep at a premium, let’s continue on with my summer of session beers!

20160704_194849

Beer Name: Jan

Brewer: Brewmaster Jack

Style: Czech Pilsner

ABV: 4.5%

Description: Described on the brewery website as a light and delicate traditional lager made from their favorite yeast strain offering a “crisp, clean, and refreshing” taste.  It came in a 12 oz. bottle which I poured into a snifter glass.

Appearance: The body poured a nice golden amber color, topped off by roughly a finger’s worth of foamy white head.  Lots of lively bubbles running up from the bottom of the glass.

Smell: Sweet, with a light malt base underneath.

Taste: Similar to the smell, the beer was sweet up front, with a bit of a tangy apple presence giving this flavor added prominence.  Transitioned to grainy, light Pilsner malts with an extremely subtle hint of earthy hops towards the finish.  The aftertaste was slightly tangy again, with light malt and yeast mingled in.

Mouthfeel: Thin, light body with a pretty heavy level of carbonation.  Happy little bubbles throughout.

Hype Factor: Not a lot of hype attached to this beer, but it was consumed under some pretty special circumstances.  It was also nice to open up a cold beer on a warm day after going without for a few weeks.

Overall: Despite having a similar flavor profile to the brewery’s Stray Dog amber lager, a brew I was somewhat ambivalent about, I kind of liked this beer.  Once again, I’m not entirely sure if the tartness was intentional or not, but it did work out pretty well in combination with the lighter malts.  I’d drink this again, but wouldn’t go out of my way to do so.  I think for this brewery I far prefer their more hop forward offerings and rye porter though.

