Tags

, , , , , ,

This next beer sort of pushes the boundaries of what I had previously considered a session IPA.  It will probably end up being one of the larger beers (relatively speaking) I drink as part of my summer series, but it’s advertised as a session beer so who am I argue?

20160811_211819

Beer Name: Skimpy Sparrow

Brewer: Trillium Brewing Company

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 5.4%

Description: Part of the brewery’s “Small Bird Series” of lower ABV offerings, this brew features a variety of fine malts and hops.  You can check more of the details and the brewer’s notes on their website.  For this review, I poured one of my 16 oz. cans into a snifter glass.  The four-pack of tallboys cost $13.20 which was pretty consistent with the brewery’s pricing model and fittingly the least expensive canned option.

Appearance: Poured a cloudy straw body with hints of a darker amber/orangish color in the depths of the glass.  It was topped off by a thick foamy white head that would slowly but steadily bubble away.

Smell: Sweet tropical fruits with dank, piney hops in the background.

Taste: The beer started out sweet and juicy with grapefruit and pineapple notes leading the way.  These gave way to orange zest and a moderately dank pine resin finish.  Refreshingly sweet and hoppy, this beer offered a ton of flavor without any particular aspect overpowering the other.

Mouthfeel: It had a medium, fluffy body with a slightly less than moderate level of carbonation.  The dry, sticky finish served to really accentuate the hop profile quite nicely.

Hype Factor: There was a little bit for me.  This wasn’t a special release or anything, but I’ve come to have high hopes for anything I bring home from this brewery.

Overall: Another excellent beer from Trillium, one that kind of reminded me of smaller, lighter version of their Galaxy Dry Hopped Fort Point Pale Ale.  Everything about it came together really well and I look forward to finishing off the rest of my cans.

