Tags

, , , , ,

I’m a bit late with this one, but last Friday we closed out the work week with our semi-traditional round of beer at the office.  Have I mentioned lately how lucky I feel having Trillium Brewing Company right down the street from us?  Also, random spoiler on an upcoming book review.

img_20160916_143115352_hdr

Beer Name: Little Rooster

Brewer: Trillium Brewing Company

Style: Pale Ale

ABV: 5.7%

Description: Listed as another installment of the brewery’s “Small Bird Series” of lower ABV offerings, you can check out the full details of this beer on the company website.  To give you a general idea, it was a pale ale hopped with Galaxy and Nelson Sauvin.  Not sure I consider something 5.7% “small” or “sessionable,” but who am I to argue?  We got a 64 oz. growler filled for $13 and made use of the office glassware.

Appearance: Poured a cloudy, pale straw-yellow body with a healthy amount of white foam that steadily fizzled away.

Smell: Very light, hints of citrus and fresh-scented hops.

Taste: Subdued sweetness upfront, highlighted by orange zest and kiwi.  Light bready malts and a hint of yeast come in towards the finish, as does a mild to moderate grassy bitterness.  The finish is also rather dry, allowing the hops to linger for a bit after the sip is over.

Mouthfeel: Super light, almost feels like the beer is floating in your mouth.  That said, there was a bit of a juicy quality here as well and some tingly little bubbles at the end.

Hype Factor: It’s Trillium!  Pretty fair to say that they’ve raised people’s expectation on just about everything they put on now.  

Overall: I thought this was a good, though not superlative, beer.  It didn’t blow me away like the rest of Trillium’s beers tend to, but that’s not to say there was necessarily anything wrong with it.  Maybe I’m just not that into Nelson hops?  Certainly worth trying, but I wouldn’t go out of my way for this alone.

