Tags

, , , , , ,

I had some mixed reactions when I saw that Trillium had released Deciduous again.  At first I was excited to have another chance to get my hands on a beer I really enjoyed previously.  However, when I saw that the recipe was changed from a red ale to a brown ale this time around, I was a little bit apprehensive as I’m generally not that excited about this style.  Since I trust the brewery and my boss was buying, it seemed like this was worth a shot anyway.

img_20161104_160402914_hdr

Beer Name: Deciduous

Brewer: Trillium Brewing Company

Style: Imperial Brown Ale

ABV: 7.5%

Description: Brewed to celebrate the arrival of the fall season, this imperial brown ale features a complex mix of malts joining Columbus and Centennial hops.  Full description can be found on the brewery website.  The 64 oz. growler we split at the office cost $17 and 4 packs of cans were going for $17.20.  Poured into one of the only clean glasses I could find that day.

Appearance: The body had a light, tannish brown color reminiscent of iced tea or apple cider.  The brew was topped off by thin bubbly off-white head.

Smell: Slight fruity sweetness with lots of piney hops.

Taste: There were three very distinct elements to this beer, each of which had a chance to both stand out on its own and serve a supporting role.  The beer started out sweet with orange and citrus notes.  It then took on a moderate helping of toasted malts accentuated by a dank, resinous pine sap bitterness.  There was a lingering blend of all three tastes at the very end that really captured the best of each aspect.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with a moderate amount of bubbly carbonation.

Hype: Elevated.  With a decent sized production run this beer has stuck around for a bit, but when Trillium makes something people inevitably want to try it.

Overall: Very good beer.  While I think I preferred last year’s red version by a hair, that personal preference should by no means detract from this brew.  Although I am not a huge fan of hoppy brown ales in general, I really enjoyed this and might consider it my shining beacon of the style going forward.  I thought the sweetness was an excellent touch and brought with it a nice contrast to the toasted malts which I sometimes find overwhelming.  The beer a big hit with my coworkers as well, so make sure you try this one out if you have the chance.

