Tags

, , , ,

And here is a look at the other bottle I brought home with me following my last trip to Night Shift.  

img_20161217_201049435

 

Beer Name: Aloha Weisse

Brewer: Night Shift Brewing Company

Style: Sour Ale

ABV: 5.6%

Description: Similar in concept to my previous review, this was a mixed fermentation sour ale brewed with pineapple.  You can take a closer look at the label here.  The 750 ml bottle cost $12, which seems like the going rate for this series.  I was once again compelled to break out the 2014 teku glass.

Appearance: The body was a surprisingly clear light straw yellow.  A foamy white head formed with the pour, fed by little bubbles running up the glass.

Smell: Lightly sweet with a pretty noticeable layer of funk on top.

Taste: Tart and sweet upfront, tangy pineapple clearly stood out as the dominant flavor.  For the finish the beer took on a moderate hay-like funk in comparable strength to the remaining pineapple.  The two aspects mingled nicely into one funky, fruity whole.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with that usual syrupy finish.  The carbonation level was actually relatively low considering all the bubbles I saw on the pour, it really only showed itself at the end.

Hype: Mostly curiosity on my part.  As I mentioned in my last post, I was really interested to see where Night Shift was going to take their Berliner Weisse lineup and how it would grow with the brewery.

Overall: I liked this a lot, though it certainly helped that I am a fan of pineapples.  I thought the beer showcased both the fruit and sour aspects quite nicely.  Light and refreshing, my only wish for this beer was that I was drinking in much warmer weather.

