Tags

, , , ,

My first beer of the new year, enjoyed the evening of 01/01/2017!

img_20170101_191518178

Beer Name: Stillings Street

Brewer: Trillium Brewing Company (Boston, MA and Canton, MA)

Style: IPA

ABV: 7.2%

Description: The most recent addition to the brewery’s “Street Series” of IPAs, Stillings Street was brewed to highlight the fruity, wine-like characteristics of the Nelson Sauvin hop.  You can read up on the brewer’s notes and more of the specs here.  

Appearance: Light golden/pale orangish body topped off by a thin fluffy white head.

Smell: I mostly picked up sweetness from assorted tropical fruits.

Taste: Kiwi and juicy tropical fruits to start, leading into a combination of floral, grassy, and slightly spicy hops.  The finish was rather dry and added just a hint of light crackery malts to the mix.  Striking a nice balance between the juicy fruits and complex hop profile, this beer was less aggressive with both aspects than some of the brewery’s other hop-centric offerings.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied and just a touch creamy despite a moderate amount of carbonation.

Hype: It’s from Trillium, so people are of course going to be excited about this.  I guess I’m a bit spoiled, but no small part of my fun with these beers comes from passing the streets they are named after on my walk to the brewery.  Anyways, I’ve missed out on this one the last few times it’s been available so I was eager to give it a try.

Overall: Very nice, subtle brew that was a bit sneaky at 7.2%.  On the whole I liked this, but it was probably not among my favorite Trillium IPAs.  I say this in part due to this not really being my preferred hop profile, and in other part due to being in more of a stout state of mind at the moment.  Still, it’s definitely worth checking this one out.

