Tags

, , , , ,

Another work beer picked up from the convenience store across the street.  This is something of a nostalgic brew for me; in the time before Trillium and heyday of my company’s Pizza and Beer Friday initiative this was our go to.

img_20161223_153258339_hdr

Beer Name: Brew Free or Die!

Brewer: 21st Amendment Brewery (San Leandro, CA)

Style: IPA

ABV: 7.0%

Description: The can says it best: IPA with a solid malt backbone and hoppy flavor.  There was a best by 1/24/2017 stamp on the bottom, so presumably our six-pack was pretty fresh.  For my side of things, I drank this out of the cleanest pint glass in the office.  You can check out the brewery website for some more detailed specs.  We really need to work on our collective dishwashing efforts.

Appearance: Light yellowish/amber body with a fluffy white head.

Smell: Sweet and fruity with a hint of pine.

Taste: Sweet caramel malts were the dominant flavor until roughly the halfway point.  Around there a hint of crackery, bready malts came through just before the beer came to a mixed citrus zest and pine finish.  Bitter but not aggressively hoppy, this beer wasn’t afraid to show off both malt and hops.

Mouthfeel: Just a touch over medium with a moderate amount of carbonation.

Hype: Probably none outside of nostalgia.  I have found memories of this beer, but I don’t think it’s something people really chase after.

Overall: Very good and something I’m always happy to drink.  It features that caramel malt/piney hop flavor profile I love, so no doubt I’m going to recommend trying this out.  It may not be the flashiest of brews, but it does deliver where it counts: taste

