Tags

, , , , ,

The second to last 2016 Barrel Society review is finally here!  I’ve been looking forward to getting these last two reviews in and now that things have quieted down a bit I am finally able to sit down and get to it.

img_20170107_215109190

Beer Name: Vesuvius

Brewer: Night Shift Brewing Company (Everett, MA)

Style: Brett Saison

ABV: 8.4%

Description: A brett saison brewed with blackberries and meyer lemons, bottled in the first half of December 2016.  To quote the brewer’s notes: pours magenta in color; strong aromas of blackberry jam, barnyard funk, and sweet lemon; sips with bright citrus notes and rich berry flavors; finishes oaky and tart.  

Appearance: Deep ruby/purple body topped off by a thin pinkish-light purple head.

Smell: Mainly tart berries with a bit of sweetness.

Taste: There was a lot going on here.  The beer started out with a mixture of sweet and tart blueberries before transitioning towards a blend of lemon and peppery yeast.  The finish had a dryness to it that made me think of red wine and featured a light hay-like funkiness mild oak barrel influence that gradually built up as the beer went on.  

Mouthfeel: The body was on the thicker side and a bit syrupy.  Moderate-plus carbonation.

Hype: Usual excitement for a barrel society release.  Maybe a little bit more since I’d been putting this one-off for a bit.

Overall: An excellent brew that I definitely enjoyed taking my time with.  Saisons tend to take me outside my comfort zone a bit, and this one did so in a very enjoyable manner.  Fantastic blend of tastes.

