Tags

, , , , , ,

For my next stout I am drinking a gift beer I received from friends in New Jersey a couple of weeks ago.  Nothing like coming home from a long trip with new beer to try.  Just for the fun of it, I paired my Brix with (Lego) bricks.

img_20170108_204308207

Beer Name: Joe & Oats

Brewer: Brix City Brewing Company (Little Ferry, NJ)

Style: Oatmeal (and Coffee) Stout

ABV: 6.5%

Description: I had to do some digging to find out more information on this beer.  Per the brewery’s Instagram feed, they took their base stout and added Sidamo coffee at a rate of 2 pounds per barrel.

Appearance: Poured a thick dark brown/black body with about a finger and half of light tan foamy head.

Smell: Lightly roasted coffee with just a hint of sweetness.

Taste: Pretty much exactly as advertised by the smell and very nearly a cup of good coffee in beer form.  Lots of light roast coffee upfront followed by a nice little bit of creamy sweetness on the finish to even things out.  I took my time drinking this and was pleasantly rewarded for doing so as the flavors really came out after the beer sat in the glass a few minutes.

Mouthfeel: Thick and smooth with a pretty subdued carbonation level.

Hype: I was excited to try this.  I had read good things about it on my Untappd feed and it gave me something from outside my home market to add to my stout lineup this winter.  As always (full disclosure) knowing one of the brewers made it pretty special as well.

Overall: Very nice beer that absolutely nailed the style.  It had just the right amount of roast for my tastes (moderate) and the ending sweetness really brought it all home.  It was a great pick-me-up on a cold night and offered nice way to get my stout fix in at a reasonable ABV

