Tags

, , , , ,

Checking in with the final review from my New Jersey haul.  Feeling very fortunate to have received so much great beer this past holiday season.

img_20170115_191255859

Beer Name: Broccoli

Brewer: Other Half Brewing Company (Brooklyn, NY)

Style: DIPA

ABV: 7.9%

Description: We’re 3 for 3 in having to go to social media for more info on my Mid-Atlantic brews.  Per Instagram, this Imperial IPA was brewed with a mix of Mosaic, Simcoe, Hallertau Blanc and Cascade hops.  My can was dated 12/15/2016 and I opened almost exactly one month later.

Appearance: Poured a hazy yellowish-orange body with a thick white foamy head that left some impressive lacing on the sides of the glass as I drank the beer down.

Smell: Juicy sweetness backed up by a sticky hop bitterness.

Taste: Lots of tropical fruit upfront, with mango standing out pretty clearly above more mellow hints of pineapple, melon, and perhaps a bit of grapefruit that snuck in.  The finish brought on a strong mix of grassy bitterness beneath a mostly sticky and resinous hop profile.  While not overly boozy, this did taste pretty much on par with the ABV.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied overall, the beer managed to feel sticky, creamy, and fluffy all at once.  The carbonation level was moderate and the playful bubbles really accentuated the various tastes quite nicely.

Hype: Elevated.  I tend to equate this brewery with Trillium in my mind, probably in no small part due my first experiences with them outside of a beer festival having been a collaboration between the two.

Overall: Very good beer, one that I would appropriately enough put on par with my last few Trillium offerings.  I’ve been absolutely spoiled in the DIPA department this past month.

