Tags

, , , , , ,

My next Idle Hands brew was tapped the morning of my visit and gave me an excellent chance to jump back into my winter goal of drinking more heavy, dark beer.

img_20170122_130652686

Beer Name: Darkness Prevails

Brewer: Idle Hands Craft Ales (Malden, MA)

Style: Belgian Strong Dark Ale

ABV: 8.0%

Description: Listed as an oak barrel aged Belgian dark ale, it was said to feature notes of dark chocolate, sour cherry, and coffee on their menu.  My 13 oz. pour cost $8.50.  

Appearance: Black body with a thick tan foam across the top.

Smell: Sweetly tart, with hints of rich dark malt.

Taste: Started out strong with sour cherries and gradually eased up to reveal more subtle notes of dark malts, coffee, and bittersweet chocolate.  The finish was moderately tart with a hint of oak.

Mouthfeel: Body was just a few ticks over medium.  Pretty low-level carbonation.

Hype: I don’t know about hype necessarily, but this did get put on tap for the brewery’s showing of the New England Patriots playoff game that evening.  Kind of an ironic name considering they were supporting the Patriots, but I’ll go with it.

Overall: I liked this a lot.  Not a style I drink very often, but I really enjoyed how the tartness paired with the dark malt influences.  Another one I recommend checking out while it’s around.

