Tags

, , , , , , ,

The final review coming out of my visit to Idle Hands last weekend takes me back to a beer I’ve mentioned on the blog before.  Way back in December 2015, while Idles Hands was brewing at Night Shift’s facility, I had a sample of this and found it somewhat perplexing.  Since I had a chance to try it again, and in the process reboot my stout season, I figured I might as well.

img_20170122_123326223

Beer Name: Check Raise

Brewer: Idle Hands Craft Ales

Style: Stout

ABV: 6.3%

Description: Listed as a stout featuring notes of coffee combined with pine and citrus.  My tall 16 oz. serving cost $7.50.

Appearance: Poured the expected black body topped off by about a finger-plus of light tan foam.

Smell: Primarily roasted malt with a mild fruity sweetness lingering in the background.

Taste: Fairly strong roasted coffee notes throughout, though there were definite peaks at the start and end of the beer.  There was a bit of citrusy sweetness in the middle, but I found it mostly overshadowed by the opening and then buried by the finishing combination of roast and piney bitterness.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with roughly a moderate amount of carbonation.  It took on some creaminess as it was left to sit

Hype: I was just really curious to try this out again as a full pour.

Overall: Didn’t hate it, but I don’t think I would get this again either.  An interesting concept, kind of like a pale ale/coffee stout hybrid, that wasn’t really enough of either.  The roast came on a bit too strong for my preferences and in combination with the piney bitterness was just a bit much.

