Tags

, , , , ,

I absolutely love this brewery’s logo.  It’s hard to imagine something more badass than a bear and lion about to throw down in a bare-knuckles boxing match.  Oh yeah, they make some pretty good beer as well.

img_20170116_215945858

Beer Name: Luponic Distortion: Revolution 004

Brewer: Firestone Walker Brewing Company (Paso Robles, CA)

Style: IPA

ABV: 5.9%

Description: The fourth installment in a series of IPAs brewed with a revolving set of hops.  For this particular beer they used a combination of four South African varieties.  You can find out a lot more information about this project on the brewery’s website.  My can was dated 11/15/2016 and I had right around it’s two month birthday (this post got  backlogged a bit).

Appearance: Translucent straw yellow/amber body topped off by a fizzy white head.

Smell: Crisp, piney bitterness with a little bit of sweetness mixed in.

Taste: Very clean and crisp.  Light tropical sweetness upfront, with a crackery malt and piney hop finish.  The flavors were very balanced and smooth as opposed to aggressive bursts of fruit and bitterness.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with moderate carbonation.

Hype: This brewery does tend to garner some attention, though I don’t believe there was much hype around this particular release.  It was, however, yet another one of the beers recommended to my wife around the holidays so I was once again curious to see how well the shop steered her.

Overall: I liked this a lot.  Light and refreshing, I enjoyed the departure from the hazy juice-driven IPAs I’ve been drinking a lot of lately.   A very pleasant reminder of just how good other approaches to this style can be.  Will be keeping an eye for future releases in this series.

