Tags

, , , , , ,

And with this beer I bring to a close my reviews of the 2016 Night Shift Barrel Society lineup.  It had been an excellent run thus far and the final offering was of particular interest as it gave me a chance to try a style I haven’t had before.

img_20170121_195439912

Beer Name: Olympus

Brewer: Night Shift Brewing Company (Everett, MA)

Style: Oud Bruin

ABV: 8.4%

Description: I will once again turn this section over to the brewer’s notes: pours brown with dark red at the edges of the glass. Aroma is slight chocolate with dark fruits, tart cherries, some Brett funk and red wine tannins. Taste follows nose, some dark fruits melding with the red wine character, the sourness and cherries in the back finishing sour and dry.  The bottling date was December 2016.

Appearance: Medium brown body with reddish/amber highlights.  Topped off by a thin bubbly white head.

Smell: Tart and sweet dark fruits with a moderate hay-like funk on the end.

Taste: Closely followed the smell.  A funkiness in the background began right away but didn’t really peak until the end when it took on some red wine and oak barrel flavors as well.  At the forefront of all this were tart dark fruits and sour cherries.  As the beer sat and settled into the glass sour cherry, oak, and that hay-like funk emerged as the primary flavors.  The finish was dry with just a little bit of heat.

Mouthfeel: Medium to light bodied with a few bubbles on the end.

Hype: I was excited for this one. It was a new style for me and I was optimistic about the 2016 lineup ending on a super high note.

Overall: It was a bit intense drinking this on my own, but overall this was a very good beer and a solid final entry.  Here’s to 2017!

