Tags

, , ,

With this entry, I add a bit of diversity to my reviews.  This isn’t typical of the styles or breweries that I typically look for, but it did end up in the fridge courtesy of my wife who picked it up for me based on a recommendation.  I honestly don’t know if I would have selected this myself, but that’s all part of the fun.

img_20170225_221154580

Beer Name: Weihenstephaner Vitus

Brewer: Bayerische Staatsbrauerei Weihenstephan (Freising, Germany)

Style: Weizenbock

ABV: 7.7%

Description: Briefly stated, this beer was brewed to feature a spicy, fruity profile more reminiscent of a wheat beer than a traditional bock.  You can the full write-up (in English!) here on the brewery website.

Appearance: Poured a murky straw yellow body topped off by a thin layer of white foam.

Smell: Sweet, with fruity esters.

Taste: Similar to the smell, there was a wheaty, bubblegum-like sweetness upfront.  Closing out the sip were banana esters with a touch of clove and assorted spices.  Each aspect came with a light touch, but combined into one very smooth and flavorful beverage.  Very fresh and light considering the ABV.

Mouthfeel: Smooth, creamy body with a moderate amount of carbonation.

Hype: Respect is probably the better word.  I recognize the brewery as well-regarded in beer circles, they’ve just never really been on my radar to try out.

Overall: This was a step outside my usual comfort zone, but what a delicious step it was.  I enjoyed the sweetness and found the amount of clove and spice added just the right amount of flavor without putting me off the beer.  Would definitely recommend this and might have to check out a few more of these.  Props to the person that recommended this.

