Tags

, , , ,

When I saw that my usual bottle shop downtown received a delivery of some Funky Buddha brews I took an early lunch to head on over and pick some up.  I haven’t had a chance to try any of their beers outside of a festival and this particular one sounded like my kind of thing.

Beer Name: Nib Smuggler

Brewer: Funky Buddha Brewery (Oakland Park, FL)

Style: Porter

ABV: 6.3%

Description: Per the brewer’s description, this porter was brewed with black cocoa from Brazil and Madagascar vanilla beans.  A four pack of 12 oz. bottles came at a pretty reasonable cost of $13.

Appearance: Black body briefly topped off by a thin tan head.

Smell: Big dose of a sweet chocolate and fudgy cocoa, not entirely unlike chocolate milk.

Taste: Sweet, creamy chocolate with a very light amount of roasted malt and mild coffee bitterness.  Finish was a combination of sweet chocolate and light roast with a bit of nuts and vanilla thrown in as well.

Mouthfeel: Medium-thin body that felt smooth and slick.  Minimal carbonation.

Hype: Elevated.  The brewery has a pretty solid reputation and is just starting to get distributed in my area.  They made quite the impression on me at the Extreme Beer Festival a few years back.

Overall: I liked it, but wasn’t particularly blown away.  My biggest wish for this beer was that it had a thicker body, which I think that would have better complimented the flavor profile and made the creamy chocolate flavors stand out a bit more.  Not a bad pickup, but not one I feel overly compelled to make again either.

