Tags

, , , , , , ,

Even though the weather suggests my unofficial stout season is at end, I won’t let that stop me from seeking out one of my favorite styles.  I caught this on draft while visiting Night Shift last week and had to give it a try.

Beer Name: North by Northeast

Brewery: Night Shift Brewing Company (Everett, MA) and The North Brewery (Endicott, NY)

Style: Stout

ABV: 5.5%

Description: Since the brewery was kind enough to offer a description I will share that.  They have it listed as a stout brewed with chocolate, salt, and raspberries.  Brewed in collaboration with New York state’s The North Brewery, whom I have admittedly not heard of before.  My 16 oz. pour cost me $6 at the brewery.

Appearance: Deep, dark brown body with a foamy light tan head.

Smell: Notes of light, roasty cocoa.

Taste: Slightly sweet bitter chocolate upfront, followed by roasted malt and a touch of caramel sweetness and salt.  There was also a mildly sweet and tart raspberry presence that drifted on the periphery of the beer when first poured.  After sitting for a bit, the beer settled into a combination of raspberries and roast, with the other elements occasionally sneaking in on the finish.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with a light carbonation level.

Hype: I’m always partial to trying out new stouts, but I think that’s about the extent of the hype on this one.

Overall: I’m generally not a huge fan of roastiness in my beers, but something about this one was really enjoyable.  The addition of raspberry and salt really worked out well here, cutting into the roast a bit and giving the beer an intriguing flavor profile.  Nice brew and a successful collaboration.

