Tags

, , , , ,

On the way home from a day trip last weekend, the family made a much needed dinner stop in Worcester, MA.  Immediately adjacent to the Clark University campus (incidentally where my wife and I met) is Peppercorn’s, a seemingly unassuming restaurant that just so happens to be attached to a small brewing facility.  The space had been occupied by Wormtown Brewing Company during our last visit, but this time around it was home to relative newcomer Flying Dreams Brewing Company (est. 11/2015).

Beer Name: Double Bock

Brewery: Flying Dreams Brewing Company (Worcester, MA)

Style: Dopplebock

ABV: 9.0%

Description: Part of the brewery’s Flight of the Lager series, they brewed this rich and hearty to satisfy everyone’s inner Germanic monk.  You can read a bit more about both beer and brewery here.

Appearance: Deep, dark brown body with reddish highlights.  No head provided aside from a bit of off-white/tannish lacing on the edges.

Smell: Faint malty sweetness.

Taste: Sweetness upfront in the form of dark fruit, a touch of caramel, and rich, dark malts.  Slight hints of yeast and toasted malt on the finish before a nice, sweet heat took over at the very end.

Mouthfeel: Creamy, medium-plus body with low carbonation.

Hype: I felt a bit nostalgic to be back in that part of Worcester again, especially with our little man, but otherwise I was not sure what to expect having never heard of the brewery until we arrived at the restaurant.  As always, I was at least happy for the chance to try out something new.

Overall: I liked this, but I thought it could be improved slightly if the various flavors blended together just a little bit more.  Not a bad first impression though, I wouldn’t mind trying out more from this brewery if given the chance.

My lingering thoughts here are about the restaurant itself, which had a pretty solid taplist beyond the stuff brewed by its neighbors.  Even though this was back in the early 2000s, I can’t help but wonder what the beer situation was like while I was attending university next door.  I know I didn’t have the mindset or the money to have appreciated it at the time, I can’t help but be curious.

