Tags

, , , , , ,

I had been eager to get my hands on some Lawson’s since they started showing up at local bottle shops earlier in the year.  Even though it tends to move quickly, I’ve had a few opportunities to pick some up over the last couple of months that I was just never quite able to take advantage of  The funny thing then about this six-pack is that I almost walked right by it without noticing.

 

Beer Name: Super Session #2

Brewery: Lawson’s Finest Liquids (Warren, VT / Stratford, CT)

Style: Session IPA

ABV: 4.8%

Description: Per the description on the can, this version of the session IPA was brewed with “copious” amounts of amarillo hops and features a “full” malt flavor.  The Vermont-based brewers made this batch at the Two Roads Brewing Company’s facility in Connecticut and canned it on 04/06/2017 (I prepared this when they were about a month old).  The six-pack of 12 oz. cans cost me $13 at my go-to spot downtown, which I was pretty happy with considering I was expecting these to carry more of a premium price tag.

Appearance: Poured a nice golden-yellow with bubbly white foam up top and visible carbonation running up the glass.  The body was cloudy but still able to be seen through.

Smell: Sweet, zesty citrus with pine in background.

Taste: Piney with citrus sweetness upfront.  From there it turned to dry, crackery malts, bitter grapefruit, and lemon zest.  Very clean and crisp with a nice balance between hops and malts.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with a sticky, dry feeling to it.  Moderate carbonation.

Hype: Definitely elevated.  While this may not be particularly limited release, Lawson’s is still one of those popular Vermont breweries people tend to get excited about.

Overall: An excellent session beer that lived up to its reputation.  Drinking this made we want to be outside on a warm spring/summer day, which is probably about as high an indication of success as you can get for the style.  I’ll definitely be picking this up again when I see it, especially as we’re getting into the warmer months.

