Tags

, , , ,

I picked up this beer on the power of suggestion alone.  I had been having a hard time deciding what to buy and then I saw it – the last of its kind, just sitting out on the staff recommendation table with a friendly $3 price tag.

Beer Name: Kellerbier

Brewery: Distelhäuser Brauerei (Tauber Franconia, Germany)

Style: Kellerbier

ABV: 5.1%

Description: A classic style, this “cellar beer” is unfiltered and naturally cloudy.  In true German fashion the only ingredients are water, malts, hops, and yeast.  For us non-German speakers, Google translate does a pretty good job with the company website if you want to find out more.

Appearance: It had cloudy, golden/straw yellow body through which I could just barely make out my fingers on the other side of the glass.  Up top a thick, bubbly head of foam formed with the pour.

Smell: Very subtle mix of sweet light malts and lager yeast.

Taste: Featured a bit more prominently the sweet malts and lager yeast noted from the smell.  The standout flavors from there were banana esters, bready and sweet malts, and light (green) peppery/yeast finish that lingered a bit after each sip.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with a moderate-plus amount of carbonation.

Hype: Curiosity.  For all I knew this could have been an under the radar gem, old stock the store wanted to unload, or anything in between.  Since I have a bit of confidence in the store and had a good experience with my last random German beer, I figured this was worth the gamble, especially at the price.

Overall: If you had asked me to imagine a typical light-ish German brew made for beer hall consumption, I would have probably thought up something pretty close to this.  Here was another beer that made me want to be outside on a warm day, perhaps while hoisting it in a hefty stein at a festival of some sort.  On the whole I definitely enjoyed this, though if I could change one thing that would be to dial back the finishing yeastiness just a little bit.  That aside, I found this to be a refreshingly tasty, no-nonsense brew that hit the spot.

