Tags

, , , , , ,

My second (and final) brew from my recent trip to Idle Hands.  I’ve been enjoying some more traditional German styles lately, something which inspired me to select this over one or two other beers that had also caught my eye.

Beer Name: Brunilda

Brewery: Idle Hands Craft Ales (Malden, MA)

Style: Munich Dunkel Lager

ABV: 5.5%

Description: Brewed as a beer of many flavors, the official notes from the brewery list bread, nuts, chocolate, and fruit among the tastes to be encountered.  Served on draft, my 0.5 Liter stein came at a cost $7.50.

Appearance: Dark brown body topped off by a foamy light tan head.

Smell: Subtle blend of sweet and ever so slightly roasted malts.

Taste: It started out similar to the smell with a subtle, bready mix of sweet and roasted malt.  Dark chocolate and nuts came through more towards the middle and end of the beer, especially as it sat for a few moments and I got further down into the glass.  As advertised, some fruit did eventually come at as well.  By the time I finished the pour, the initial malt combo was joined by a blend of bittersweet chocolate and a hint of dark fruit on the end.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with a moderate amount of carbonation.

Hype: As stated above, I had my reasons for wanting to try this, but I can’t say that there was any particular hype surrounding this release.

Overall: I liked this a lot and thought it was very flavorful and super easy to drink.  An excellent drinking beer to chill out with and leisurely enjoy.  I loved that it was served in a large stein, something about that format really enhanced the experience for me.  I don’t think a sample would do this one justice, especially given how much the flavors developed over time.  My advice if you want to try this out: Go big and then take the time to enjoy it!

