Tags

, , , , ,

Time again for another work beer.  It is perhaps somewhat telling that three people in the office, completely independent of each other, remarked at how closely the beer cans resembled our Polar seltzer.

Beer Name: Blatant IPA

Brewery: Blatant Brewery (Bondsville, MA)

Style: IP

ABV: 6.5%

Description: Probably not a great sign that it was really hard to find out anything at all about either the beer or the brewery.  Their Twitter feed seems dormant and the website I can find listed for them is no longer in existence.  Nestled in between some pretty big boasts, the Untappd description for this beer tell us that it’s brewed in the West Coast style and “(f)ull of hops and a subtle cereal grain backbone.”

Appearance: Started out with a mostly see-through straw yellow body underneath a persistent white head of foam.  At the very end of the pour a bit of sediment from the can made the body cloudy to the point it could almost not be seen through.

Smell: Sticky sweet yet somewhat reserved, hints of caramel malt and resinous pine bitterness.

Taste: A very brief moment of sweetness upfront quickly followed by a huge spike of lemon and grapefruit bitterness.  Grassy hops slowly emerged from this initial rush and mixed with light, crackery malts and peppery yeast for a finish that lingered for a bit after finishing the sip.

Mouthfeel: Medium bodied with just a touch above moderate carbonation.

Hype: None, I don’t think I had heard of or noticed this brewery until I found these cans in the refrigerator at work.

Overall: This was a miss.  Beyond the astringently harsh bitterness, this beer just tasted a bit messy.  The peppery yeast finish seemed out-of-place and I was caught off-guard by the malt profile that did not match what I had expected from the smell.  Given the abundance of good to outstanding IPAs available in my area, even when limiting myself to only locally brewed options, I can safely say I will not be revisiting this beer.  Unfortunately there was no date on the can to let me know if this was “old” or not so I can only judge by what I got out of the can.  Not a great first impression.

