Tags

, , , , , ,

As I have posted here before, I’ve become a fan of the Kill Your Idles series.  Imagine my excitement then when I saw they started canning these releases!

Beer Name: Kill Your Idles: Blood Orange

Brewery: Idle Hands Craft Ales (Malden, MA)

Style: Fruited Sour

ABV: 5.6%

Description: Another entry in the brewery’s rotating lineup of fruited sours, this one was brewed with blood oranges and lactose.  Cans were stamped 7/27/2017 and cost $18 per four pack of tallboys.

Appearance: Bubbly, light golden body underneath a thin white head that fizzled away fairly quickly.

Smell: Mild citrus notes paired with a light funkiness.

Taste: Opened up with a light, fruity tartness intermingled with a fairly mild hay-like funk.  This was followed by a slight increase in tart/sour orange and came to a moderately funky, Tang-y finish.

Mouthfeel: Light bodied with an above average amount of carbonation, though perhaps not quite as much as I might of thought at first sight.  Ended slightly syrupy.

Hype: I am really into this series and I get the impression that the brewers and bartenders are all big fans as well.

Overall: Another really good entry into the lineup, I found this refreshingly funky and tart.  Although I would probably rate this installment just slightly behind the other brews in the series (due to personal preference in fruits), I still really enjoyed it and am looking forward to exploring the rest of the cans.  Speaking of cans, I am excited that they made the change to this format.  The price per ounce is much better compared to previous releases and the smaller servings make me much more likely to take some of these home with me.

