Tags

, , , ,

20160323_185235

Here we are with another gift beer.  Coming to me from Vault Brewing Company in Yardley, PA by way of a pit stop in New Jersey I ended up with another stout to share with you all.

Beer Name: Breakfast Stout

Brewer: Vault Brewing Company

Style: Oatmeal Stout

ABV: 7.3%

Description: Poured into my trusty Bean Porter mug from a refrigerated nitro can.  Said can was dated 02/08/2016.  

Appearance: Being nitro, the instructions were to pour aggressively and I was happy to oblige.  The beer had dark yet distinctly brown body topped off by one finger’s worth of a foamy white head that filled in as the beer settled.

Smell: Very subtle creamy coffee.

Taste: Light roast coffee throughout with occasional hints of sweet malts that served to give the beer a nice creaminess.  These taste were fairly mild but had a pleasingly steady presence from start to finish.  There was absolutely no hint of the alcohol at all; I would not have been surprised to find out that this was only 5.0%.

Mouthfeel: Thin and light to start, but by the finish it took on a rather smooth and creamy quality.  Very low carbonation and super easy to drink.  Perhaps even dangerously easy to drink given how well the alcohol is hidden.

Hype Factor: Seeing all the Untappd check-ins at Vault Brewing certainly piqued my curiosity, but I had no real preset expectations going into this one.  I knew I wouldn’t be offered a sub par beer, but beyond that I did not know what I was in for.

Overall: This was a very good beer and a pleasure to drink.  I certainly wish I had a few more to sit back and relax with, and would have really enjoyed a chance to try it side by side with a similar brew I recently enjoyed – Kent Falls Table Porter.

