Tags

, , ,

Scotch ales always seem to draw my interest despite being a style that tends to be very hit or miss with me.  The hits are usually really satisfying while the misses end up being way off the mark.  Hoping for a pleasant surprise, I picked this one up the other day.  It had the benefit of being from a brewery I trust at a price that was hard to resist.

20160409_205129

Beer Name: Drookit

Brewer: Berkshire Brewing Company

Style: Scotch Ale

ABV: 7.9%

Description: The label described this beer as “sweet and malty” with a “handful of peat-kiln malt.”  There was a 04/01/2016 date on the price tag, though I am not sure if that refers to when the beer was bottled or added as inventory.  The bomber was a bargain at $4.99 and met its end in the same manner as many more expensive offerings, in my snifter glass.

Appearance: It poured a dark brown/caramel body with a thin bubbly white head.  The head dissipated fairly quickly to leave a nice lacing along the sides of the glass.

Smell: Smell was primarily sweet, with a peaty malt presence lingering in the background.

Taste: Moderate amounts of sweet malt upfront, primarily of the caramel and toffee variety.  I also got some dark fruits as the beer transitioned to the finish, which brought with it a very slight smokiness.  I generally don’t care much for smoke in my beer, but the flavor here was quite subtle and pleasantly complimented the sweetness.

Mouthfeel: The beer was pretty thick up front and thinned out a bit by the end.  Carbonation was virtually non-existent.  Both of these aspects suited the tastes of the beer quite well.

Hype Factor: I definitely brought my own hopes and expectations into this beer, but there was not any external hype around this one.

Overall: The beer delivered just about what I hoped it would, though for some reason it didn’t quite blow me away.  Still, I enjoyed drinking it and would call this offering a success.  Definitely something I would keep in mind next time I want something in this style.

