Tags

, , , , , , , ,

When I heard that this was being released I was definitely intrigued.  Night Shift has been putting out some great stouts lately and something about a chocolate milk stout just sounded too good to miss out on.

img_20170221_210340681

Beer Name: Cow Tipper

Brewer: Night Shift Brewing Company (Everett, MA)

Style: Chocolate Milk Stout

ABV: 6.0%

Description: Per the brief brewer’s notes, this is a stout brewed with chocolate and lactose.  Currently available as a limited release to drink on draft at the taproom or take to home in 4 packs.  Cost was $6 for a 16 oz. pour and $14 per pack of cans.

Appearance: Black body with a healthy light tan head forming with the pour.  The foam left some nice lacing on the glass as I made my way through the beer.

Smell: Sweet milk and dark malts with a faint hint of roasted coffee.

Taste: Right out of the refrigerator there was a moderate level of roasted coffee that began on the front and carried through to the finish. This faded somewhat after a few minutes, more clearly leaving behind creamy notes of sweet milk, lactose, and bittersweet dark chocolate.

Mouthfeel: Just a touch above medium with mild carbonation.

Hype: Nothing out of the ordinary I suppose.  As mentioned already, I was certainly eager to try this.

Overall: Highly enjoyable.  Considering it was labeled a chocolate milk stout, I wish there had a bit more sweetness in comparison to the bitterness and roast, but this was still very good regardless.  Nice, easy to drink way to get my stout fix.

